What is it that you DO, exactly?

Since I started on this journey of becoming a life coach, this question has arisen A LOT.  You might be wondering yourself.  So, let me explain.

Here’s the short version:

doctor::personal trainer    AS    therapist::life coach

No?  Alright.  Here’s the long version.  Doctors take people that are sick and make them well.  Personal trainers take people that are generally well, and help them be better versions of well.  Likewise, therapists assist people who are sick, or who are so unwell that they cannot function get to a place of wellness.  Life coaches take people that are generally well, and help them be better versions of that well.

Life coaching is decidedly different from therapy, counseling or mentoring.  Typically, I won’t ever tell you what to do (even if you ask).  I am sympathetic and empathetic about what has happened in your past but, to me, it doesn’t really change the problem you are facing now.  What’s important to me is that you are not satisfied.  You are looking for something and you can’t find it.   Essentially, I nudge you until you get to a place of self-reflection where your answers are readily accessible TO YOU.

Sound like mumbo jumbo?

Perhaps.  But let’s look at it from a slightly different angle.  Ok, turn your head to the side.  Now, scroll back up to the top and start reading again.

Change your mind?  Thought not.  How about this:

Every coach has an image in his or her head of an ideal client.  Depending on the focus of their practice, coaches’ ideal clients can vary radically.  Sometimes you can get a clearer vision of a profession, however, by looking at the people that USE those professionals, as opposed to looking at the actual professionals themselves.

So, let me tell you about my ideal client.

Motivated.

That’s really all I need.  Well, that’s not true.  If you’re JUST motivated, then you don’t need me.  So, let me revise that.  My ideal client is:

Motivated but unfulfilled.

Why is this a recipe for success with me?  In my opinion, if you are not motivated to change … if you’re not willing to reflect on what you are dissastified with in your life, then there’s not much I can do for you.  I cannot MAKE you change.  Nor would I want do.  If I MAKE you do something, it’s not likely to be sustainable for you.

On the otherhand, if you’re motivated but know that you’re unfulfilled … well, then we can do some serious damage to whatever is making you feel less than your personal best.  You might be unfulfilled with your body, your relationship with your mother, or you may not know WHAT it is that dissatisfies you.  Either way, it’s ok.  Because, if you’re motivated to discover some answers, then I can help you find a way to make your situation more fulfilling.

So, does life coaching sound interesting or like a bunch of bull hockey?  Let me know in the comments.

One thought on “What is it that you DO, exactly?

Leave a Reply

